ARC Review: Stung by Bethany Wiggins

May 6, 2013



Stung
Author: Bethany Wiggins
Pages: 304
Publisher: Walker Children's
Release Date: April 2nd, 2013
Source: Received a copy from Walker Children's Via NetGalley.Thanks so much for providing me with a copy to read

 Summary:


There is no cure for being stung.

Fiona doesn’t remember going to sleep. But when she opens her eyes, she discovers her entire world has been altered—her house is abandoned and broken, and the entire neighborhood is barren and dead. Even stranger is the tattoo on her right hand—a black oval with five marks on either side—that she doesn’t remember getting but somehow knows she must cover at any cost. She’s right.

Those bearing the tattoo have turned into mindless, violent beasts that roam the streets and sewers, preying upon the unbranded while a select few live protected inside a fortress-like wall, their lives devoted to rebuilding society and killing all who bear the mark.

Now Fiona has awakened branded, alone—and on the wrong side of the wall.








Stung is a very intriguing book that brings you into a world that you could only dream of creating in your wildest dreams.


Fo, Fiona, wakes up in her room and that's pretty normal right? Except for the fact that everything around her has aged -- her carpet is faded, the window is broken and everything  in her house looks like it has been abandoned for years. Fo is very confused at this point because she only remembers being thirteen years old and just having her birthday party. Fo is scared and curious because she has awoken to no family and a strange mark on her hand that is an oval with five marks on either side, making her a ten. Fo has no idea what is going on in the world around her and totally oblivious to the rules and why people want her captured. Leaving Fo to defend for herself, on the wrong side of the wall, against people who want Fo dead.


 Fo is a very unique character in my opinion because she doesn't know what's going on in soceity now and this makes me connect to her because she is oblivious just like the reader and when she learns something new so do we.Like I said before,Fo really is oblivious to the rules that have now become of this new soceity and this makes her so vulnerable. In this story she is taken advantage of because of this, but she still finds a way to stay strong. Fiona is also a really strong character in this book because when she should loose hope, she doesn't! She fights on until the end. I honestly can not put into words how dynamic and complex of a character Fiona was. Throughout this book there was not a second when I hated her that I could not read anymore. Quite frankly it was the opposite.

Stung also has a complex and interesting plot; the plot never failed to surprise me.  I love how this book always kept the story fresh by adding something new in every chapter weither it was new information, new people or new details about a person. This review is so hard for me to write because this book is just so unique and so well written that I can not put it into words.

In the end, this book was amazing and brings you into a world so unique that you will be intrigued and want to follow Fo through her journey. This story always has something to throw at you and it will shock you at points. At the end the story is really bitter sweet and I can't wait to read the next one!

Fans of The Maze Runner and Hunger Games  should read this book because it has the best of both worlds from both of these fantastic stories with an added twist. Readers will also not be disappointed in this imaginative, inspiring, story of a girl who is just as confused as the reader.









1 comment:

  1. Sounds like an amazing book! I'll have to add this to my TBR list.

    I saw your post on the YA Book Club on Goodreads and thought I would check out your site! I am now following you via BlogLovin'.

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete

CUSTOM BLOG DESIGN BY PRETTYWILDTHINGS